The Privy Council is the mechanism through which interdepartmental agreement is reached on those items of Government business which, for historical or other reasons, fall to Ministers as Privy Counsellors rather than as Departmental Ministers.

The Rt Hon Jacob Rees-Mogg was appointed Lord President of the Council in July 2019.

The Rt Hon Jacob Rees-Mogg

Privy Council Meetings

Copies of Orders in Council, Proclamations and Business transacted at meetings of the Privy Council since 2010

Royal Charters

Information on applying for, or amending a Royal Charter.

Privy Council members

An up to date list of Members of the Privy Council.


Check here for answers to many of our frequently asked questions.