

LIST OF BUSINESS FOR THE PRIVY COUNCIL MEETING, HELD BY THE KING AT BUCKINGHAM PALACE, ON 10TH JULY 2024

PRESENT AT COUNCIL

His Majesty The King

The Right Honourable Lucy Powell MP

Lord President of the Privy Council

The Right Honourable Angela Rayner MP

Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities

Wes Streeting MP

Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

Bridget Phillipson MP

Secretary of State for Education

The Right Honourable Edward Miliband MP

Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero

Jonathan Reynolds MP

Secretary of State for Business and Trade and President of the Board of Trade

Peter Kyle MP

Secretary of State for Science, Innovation and Technology

Louise Haigh MP

Secretary of State for Transport

Steve Reed OBE MP

Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

The Right Honourable Hilary Benn MP

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

Ian Murray MP

Secretary of State for Scotland

Jo Stevens MP

Secretary of State for Wales

Darren Jones MP

Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Richard Hermer KC

Attorney General

Anneliese Dodds MP

Minister of State

Mr Richard Tilbrook CVO

Clerk of the Privy Council

Mrs Ceri King LVO

Deputy Clerk of the Privy Council

Mr Niall Clarke-Petty

Deputy Clerk of the Privy Council

BUSINESS FOR THE COUNCIL

1. PRIVY COUNSELLORS

Louise Haigh MP, Darren Jones MP, Bridget Phillipson MP, Steven Reed OBE MP, Jonathan Reynolds MP and Wesley Streeting MP were sworn as Members of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

Anneliese Dodds MP, Richard Hermer KC, Peter Kyle MP, Ian Murray MP and Joanna Stevens MP made affirmation as Members of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

An Order appointing John Swinney MSP as a Member of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

2. SECRETARIES OF STATE

The Right Honourable Angela Rayner was sworn one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Housing, Communities and Local Government);

The Right Honourable Wesley Streeting was sworn one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Health and Social Care);

The Right Honourable Bridget Phillipson was sworn one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Education);

The Right Honourable Edward Miliband made affirmation as one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Energy Security and Net Zero);

The Right Honourable Jonathan Reynolds was sworn one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Business and Trade);

The Right Honourable Peter Kyle made affirmation as one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Science, Innovation and Technology);

The Right Honourable Louise Haigh was sworn one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Transport);

The Right Honourable Steven Reed OBE was sworn one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Environment, Food and Rural Affairs);

The Right Honourable Hilary Benn made affirmation as one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Northern Ireland);

The Right Honourable Ian Murray made affirmation as one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Scotland);

The Right Honourable Joanna Stevens made affirmation as one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State (Wales);

3. PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD OF TRADE

An Order appointing the Right Honourable Jonathan Reynolds as President of the Board of Trade.

4. PROCLAMATIONS

Three Proclamations determining the specifications and designs for a new series of coins:-

- 1. depicting characters from the old English poem Beowulf, scenes from a James Bond film, the Queen's Panther or a Lion and an Eagle;
- 2. altering the Proclamation dated 11th October 2023 for fifty pence and twenty pence cupro-nickel coins;
- 3. altering the Proclamations dated 9th November 2022, 14th December 2022 and 21st February 2024 to determine a new standard weight for ten pound gold coins and a new standard weight and remedy for one pound silver coins;

and an Order directing the Lord Chancellor to affix the Great Seal to the Proclamations.

5. CHARTER

An Order granting a Supplemental Charter to The Queen's Nursing Institute.

6. CHARTER AMENDMENTS

Two Orders allowing amendments to the Charters of:—

- 1. City, University of London;
- 2. Westcott House, Cambridge.

7. STATUTORY ORDERS

Education (Scotland) Act 1980

Two Orders appointing Linda Booth and Stephen John McGregor, as His Majesty's Inspectors of Education in Scotland.

Education and Inspections Act 2006

The Inspectors of Education, Children's Services and Skills (No. 2) Order 2024.

8. BURIALS

Burial Act 1853 (Notice)

Order giving notice of the discontinuance of burials in: —

- 1. St James the Great Church Churchyard, Ruscombe, Wokingham, Berkshire;
- 2. Great St Mary's Church of England Churchyard, Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire.

Burial Act 1853 (Final)

Order prohibiting further burials in:-

- 1. St Mary Magdalene Churchyard, Hatfield Hyde, Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire;
- 2. Holy Trinity Churchyard, Freckleton, Lancashire;
- 3. St John the Baptist Churchyard, Donhead St Mary, Shaftesbury, Dorset.

9. PETITION

An Order referring a Petition of The Prince's Trust praying for the grant of a Supplemental Charter.